Obtaining Infrastructure Funding Resources

By Kinsey Brown | November 5, 2020

USDA Rural Utilities Service Borrower’s Guide: A How-to for Water and Wastewater Loans from USDA Rural Development https://www.rcap.org/resource/usda-rural-utilities-service-borrowers-guide-a-how-to-for-water-and-wastewater-loans-from-usda-rural-development/ Getting Your Project to Flow Smoothly: A Guide to Developing Water and Wastewater Infrastructure https://www.rcap.org/resource/getting-your-project-to-flow-smoothly-a-guide-to-developing-water-and-wastewater-infrastructure/How does the Federal Budget Impact Rural Utilities? https://www.rcap.org/resource/federal-budget-impact-rural-utilities/ RCAC: Sustainable Infrastructure for Small System Public Services: A Planning and Resource Guide https://www.rcac.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/gig.pdf

Board and Elected Official Roles, Responsibilities & Policy Development Resources

By Kinsey Brown | November 5, 2020

Big Guide for Small Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/big-guide-for-small-systems/ A Drop of Knowledge: The Non-operator’s Guide to Drinking Water Systems https://www.rcac.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Non-operatorsGuideDRINKINGWATERSystems.pdf Board Building Blocks https://www.rcap.org/resource/board-building-blocks/ Supplying Community Water https://www.rcap.org/resource/supplying-community-water/ The Importance of an Operator in a Community’s Water Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/importance-operator-communitys-water-systems/

Regionalization/Partnership Resources

By Kinsey Brown | November 5, 2020

RCAP Report Resiliency Through Water and Wastewater System Partnerships: 10 Lessons from Community Leaders https://www.rcap.org/blog/regionalizationresearch/ Regionalization One-pager https://www.rcap.org/resource/regionalization-one-pager/ Benefits of Regionalization https://www.rcap.org/resource/benefits-of-regionalization/ Affordability and Capacity Issues of Small Water and Wastewater Systems: A Case for Regionalization of Small Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/affordability-and-capacity-issues-of-small-water/ A Drop of Knowledge: Partnering by Example https://www.rcap.org/november-2020-dok/ A Drop of Knowledge: How to Leverage Regional Collaboration

Rate Setting & Financial Management

By Kinsey Brown | November 5, 2020

Understanding and Improving your Water System’s Bill Collection Rate RCAP Webinar Formulate Great Rates Guidebook https://www.rcap.org/resource/formulate-great-rates-a-self-guided-training-to-setting-rates/ Formulate Great Rates: A Webcast on Setting Rates in Small-Community Utilities (Part 1) https://www.rcap.org/resource/formulate-great-rates-a-webcast-on-setting-rates-in-small-community-utilities/ Formulate Great Rates: A Webcast on Setting Rates in Small-Community Utilities (Part 2) https://www.rcap.org/resource/formulate-great-rates-a-webcast-on-setting-rates-in-small-community-utilities-part-2/ Rate Guide Supplemental Materials (Excel) https://www.rcap.org/resource/rateguide/ Basics of Financial Management Guidebook

Asset Management Resources

By Kinsey Brown | November 5, 2020

Big Guide for Small Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/big-guide-for-small-systems/ Asset Life Expectancy Guide https://www.rcap.org/resource/asset-life-expectancy-guide/ EPA: Check-Up Program for Small Systems (CUPSS) Asset Management Tool https://www.epa.gov/dwcapacity/check-program-small-systems-cupss-asset-management-tool EPA: Asset Management Resources for States and Small Drinking Water Systems https://www.epa.gov/dwcapacity/asset-management-resources-states-and-small-drinking-water-systems Southwest Environmental Finance Center: Asset Management Switchboard https://swefcamswitchboard.unm.edu/am/ AWWA: Planning for Rehabilitation, Renewal and Replacement https://www.awwa.org/Resources-Tools/Resource-Topics/Asset-Management &nbs

Sustainable Utility Management Resources

By Kinsey Brown | November 5, 2020

Big Guide for Small Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/big-guide-for-small-systems/ A Drop of Knowledge: Five Core Questions to Answer for Effective Management of System Assets https://www.rcap.org/12092-2/ EPA: Effective Water Utility Management Practices https://www.epa.gov/sustainable-water-infrastructure/effective-water-utility-management-practices EPA: Rural and Small Systems Guidebook to Sustainable Water and Wastewater Utility Management https://www.epa.gov/sustainable-water-infrastructure/rural-and-small-systems-guidebook-sustainable-water-and-wastewater Water EUM: Ten Attributes of Effectively Managed Water Sector Utilities https://www.watereum.org/resources/interactive-primer/ten-attributes/ EPA:

November Drop of Knowledge

By Kinsey Brown | November 2, 2020

Partnering by Example By: Zach Green, Great Lakes Community Action Partnership (GLCAP) As we all know, COVID-19 has put us in some tough spots throughout the course of 2020.  However, it is during these trying times that some outside of the box thinking can lead to some real, tangible gains.  Prior to COVID-19, the U.S.

Straight from the TAP – Shelly Underwood

By Coye Gerald | October 28, 2020

Shelly Underwood is a Technical Assistance Provider for the Midwest Assistance Program (MAP) in Kansas. She has been with the organization for 2.5 years, starting in 2018. Prior to MAP, Shelly spent 8+ years as a City Clerk for a rural community in Southeast Kansas. While working as City Clerk, she obtained her class 1

Maine’s E-Learning Initiatives

By Kinsey Brown | October 5, 2020

By: Kathy Rodgers, RCAP Solutions Maine State Lead RCAP Solutions is the Northeastern RCAP region serving all six New England states, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Maine’s RCAP team is part of an internal technology working group to host and moderate trainings in GoToTraining, a web platform used

Straight from the TAP – Lisa Totten

By Coye Gerald | September 30, 2020

Lisa Totten is a Senior Rural Development Specialist for the Great Lakes Rural Community Action Partnership (GLCAP) in Wisconsin. She has been with the organization since April, 2010. Prior to GLCAP, Lisa obtained Economic Development training through the National Development Center. She has also worked as a Business Manager, and Controller in the past. When