AWWA Webcast: The Latest on Emergency Water Supply Planning

August 25, 2011 | EPA

August 31, 2011

1:00 – 2:00 p.m. EDT
noon – 1:00 p.m. CDT
11:00 a.m. – noon MDT
10:00 – 11:00 a.m. PDT

Program overview

This webcast will present an overview of the recently released guides on Planning for an Emergency Drinking Water Supply and Emergency Water Supply Planning for Hospitals and Health Care Facilities

Planning for an Emergency Drinking Water Supply is the joint effort between AWWA and USEPA's National Homeland Security Research Center, with support from the CDM. The report offers a resource to review the roles and responsibilities among various levels of government and essential planning steps. All government entities and others responsible for emergency water supplies should coordinate roles, identify approaches, and estimate resources. Preplanning these responsibilities leads to more effective and efficient operations under emergency conditions. The report covers the technical details of this planning and presents key findings to improve the nation's responsiveness when the need for an emergency water supply emerges.

A joint effort between AWWA and CDC, with support from AH Environmental Consultants, Inc., resulted in the Emergency Water Supply Planning for Hospitals and Health Care Facilities guide. This guide is targeted more toward the health care sector but utilities will benefit from using this guide as a means to improve relationships with their own local health care community.

Learning objectives

  • Identify key elements that facilitate planning for emergency water supply at the community level.
  • Critical issues and challenges that determine successful and effective response.
  • Recommendations for improving the efficiency of current response efforts at the local, state, and federal level.

Speakers

  • Alan Roberson, Director of Federal Relations, American Water Works Association, Washington, DC
  • Kevin Morley, Security & Preparedness Program Manager, American Water Works Association, Washington, DC

Agenda

  • Introduction
  • Why resiliency is important to drinking water utilities and utility resiliency is a critical component of community resiliency.
  • Overview of the recently released Planning for an Emergency Drinking Water Supply guide.
  • Overview of the recently released Emergency Water Supply Planning for Hospitals and Health Care Facilities guide.
  • Questions From the Audience

Steps to register

Please note: To register for this one-hour complimentary webcast, follow the steps below. Registration closes at 5:00 p.m. MDT on Tuesday, August 30, 2011.

To register and receive the link to this webcast, you must complete Step 1 and Step 2.

Step 1: Order with AWWA
If you have technical difficulties, contact Customer Service at 1.800.926.7337.

Step 2: GoToWebinar Registration

If you have technical difficulties, contact GoToWebinar User Help.