Obtaining Infrastructure Funding Resources

November 5, 2020 | Asset Management, Managerial and Financial

USDA Rural Utilities Service Borrower’s Guide: A How-to for Water and Wastewater Loans from USDA Rural Development https://www.rcap.org/resource/usda-rural-utilities-service-borrowers-guide-a-how-to-for-water-and-wastewater-loans-from-usda-rural-development/ Getting Your Project to Flow Smoothly: A Guide to Developing Water and Wastewater Infrastructure https://www.rcap.org/resource/getting-your-project-to-flow-smoothly-a-guide-to-developing-water-and-wastewater-infrastructure/How does the Federal Budget Impact Rural Utilities?…

read more

Board and Elected Official Roles, Responsibilities & Policy Development Resources

November 5, 2020 | Asset Management, Managerial and Financial

Big Guide for Small Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/big-guide-for-small-systems/A Drop of Knowledge: The Non-operator's Guide to Drinking Water Systems https://www.rcac.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Non-operatorsGuideDRINKINGWATERSystems.pdf Board Building Blocks https://www.rcap.org/resource/board-building-blocks/Supplying Community Water https://www.rcap.org/resource/supplying-community-water/The Importance of an Operator in a Community’s Water Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/importance-operator-communitys-water-systems/

read more

Regionalization/Partnership Resources

November 5, 2020 | Asset Management, Managerial and Financial

RCAP Report Resiliency Through Water and Wastewater System Partnerships: 10 Lessons from Community Leaders https://www.rcap.org/blog/regionalizationresearch/Regionalization One-pager https://www.rcap.org/resource/regionalization-one-pager/Benefits of Regionalization https://www.rcap.org/resource/benefits-of-regionalization/Affordability and Capacity Issues of Small Water and Wastewater Systems: A Case for Regionalization of Small Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/affordability-and-capacity-issues-of-small-water/A Drop of Knowledge: Partnering by…

read more

Rate Setting & Financial Management

November 5, 2020 | Asset Management, Managerial and Financial

Understanding and Improving your Water System's Bill Collection Rate RCAP Webinar Formulate Great Rates Guidebook https://www.rcap.org/resource/formulate-great-rates-a-self-guided-training-to-setting-rates/ Formulate Great Rates: A Webcast on Setting Rates in Small-Community Utilities (Part 1) https://www.rcap.org/resource/formulate-great-rates-a-webcast-on-setting-rates-in-small-community-utilities/ Formulate Great Rates: A Webcast on Setting Rates in Small-Community…

read more

Asset Management Resources

November 5, 2020 | Asset Management, Managerial and Financial

Big Guide for Small Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/big-guide-for-small-systems/ Asset Life Expectancy Guide https://www.rcap.org/resource/asset-life-expectancy-guide/ EPA: Check-Up Program for Small Systems (CUPSS) Asset Management Tool https://www.epa.gov/dwcapacity/check-program-small-systems-cupss-asset-management-toolEPA: Asset Management Resources for States and Small Drinking Water Systems https://www.epa.gov/dwcapacity/asset-management-resources-states-and-small-drinking-water-systemsSouthwest Environmental Finance Center: Asset Management Switchboard https://swefcamswitchboard.unm.edu/am/AWWA:…

read more

Sustainable Utility Management Resources

November 5, 2020 | Managerial and Financial

Big Guide for Small Systems https://www.rcap.org/resource/big-guide-for-small-systems/ A Drop of Knowledge: Five Core Questions to Answer for Effective Management of System Assets https://www.rcap.org/12092-2/ EPA: Effective Water Utility Management Practices https://www.epa.gov/sustainable-water-infrastructure/effective-water-utility-management-practicesEPA: Rural and Small Systems Guidebook to Sustainable Water and Wastewater Utility…

read more

November Drop of Knowledge

November 2, 2020 | Blog

Partnering by Example By: Zach Green, Great Lakes Community Action Partnership (GLCAP) As we all know, COVID-19 has put us in some tough spots throughout the course of 2020.  However, it is during these trying times that some outside of…

read more

Maine’s E-Learning Initiatives

October 5, 2020 | Training

By: Kathy Rodgers, RCAP Solutions Maine State Lead RCAP Solutions is the Northeastern RCAP region serving all six New England states, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Maine’s RCAP team is part of an…

read more

RCAP Praises EPA’s Proposed Financial Capability Assessment for Clean Water Act

September 17, 2020 | Blog, Clean Water Act, EPA

Washington, D.C. – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced its proposed 2020 Financial Capability Assessment (FCA) for Clean Water Act (CWA) schedule development. The revised CFA, used to evaluate a system’s financial capability for water infrastructure projects and improvements,…

read more

September 5, 2020 | Drinking Water, General RCAP News, Infrastructure, Public Health

Exploring Water, Health Infrastructure, Resilience and Learning (WHIRL) By: Shawn P. McElmurry, Ph.D., P.E. Associate Professor Wayne State University Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering Editor’s note: McElmurry is a contributing author for Drop of Knowledge and leader of a…

read more